The iconic chapel at Smitsfield brings history and modernity together perfectly. The chapel was built in 1924 in remembrance of the Day of Reconicilliation, with ceder trees planted in a X formation – the chapel at the center. Old oak trees surround this beautiful scene.
The Coetzers’ love and respect for history motivated them to keep the heritage in place, all the while giving it a new, modern look and feel. The corrugated zink screens originally came from England through the Maputo harbour, and the oregon pine trusses were kept intact.